Adult literacy supports

Tuesday 8 September marks the UN’s 50th International Literacy Day and there are hundreds of events planned all over the world.

If you or a member of your family finds reading, writing or working with numbers difficult there are a range of resources to help.

Currently there are 45,000 adults attending one-to-one and group tuition in adult literacy classes nationwide. But if you don’t have the time to attend a course, the National Literacy Agency offers over-the-phone and online tuition – or a combination of all three.

Visit or call 1800 20 20 65 to find out about adult literacy supports.

New Leaving Certificate grading system

A new grading scheme for the Leaving Certificate will be introduced from 2017. The new scheme no longer uses grade bands (A1, A2 and so on).The new scale has 8 grades at both Higher and Ordinary levels- the highest grade is a Grade 1, the lowest grade a Grade 8. Grades 1-7 run (in 10% grade bands) from 100% to 30% and Grade 8 is for percentage marks for 0 to 29.9%.

The change in grading scheme means the Common Points Scale (CPS), used by the CAO to determine entry into higher education institutions, also needs to be revised. The table below shows the revised CPS that will be introduced from 2017:

Higher Ordinary
Grade Points Grade Points
 H1 100
 H2 88
 H3 77
 H4 66
 H5 56  O1 56
 H6 46  O2 46
 H7 37  O3 37
 H8 0  O4 28
   O5 20
   O6 12
   O7 0
   O8 0

The main features of the new scale are that:

  • It maintains the current alignment between the points awarded for achievement at Higher Level and the points awarded for achievement at Ordinary Level
  • The difference in the points awarded for each grade varies, reducing the probability that students will achieve the same overall points score. This will help to minimise the allocation of places in higher education by random selection.
  • It will encourage the take-up of Higher Level subjects through the introduction of points for the new H7 grade.
  • It continues to award Bonus Points for Higher Level Maths.

You can

Nominate someone for Carer of the Year

The closing date for nominations for the Carers of the Year Awards 2015 is Friday 11 September 2015.

If you know a relative, neighbour or friend you think should be recognised and rewarded for the care they provide to a loved one you can nominate them for an award. You can also nominate a young carer (under 18) for a special award.

Visit to fill out an online nomination form.

Find out more about the supports available for carers.