What’s changing from Monday 8 June?

The Government has confirmed that it is safe to move to Phase 2 of the Roadmap for Reopening Business and Society on Monday 8 June 2020.

The Government has also confirmed that the phases set out in the Roadmap will be accelerated with phases 3, 4 and 5 being merged. Under the reconfiguration of the Roadmap, there are now just two remaining phases instead of three, with Phase 3 starting on 29 June, and Phase 4 on 20 July.  The domestic travel restrictions (within Ireland) will be lifted from 29 June 2020.

The key changes from Monday 8 June will be:

  • Stay local: You may travel within your own county, and up to 20 kilometres from your home if you are crossing county boundaries.
  • Meeting other people: You may meet up to 6 people from outside your household, both indoors and outdoors for social gatherings. You can take part in organised outdoor exercise, sporting, cultural or social activities with up to 15 people. Up to 25 immediate family and close friends may attend funeral services. Outdoor summer camps may operate for post-primary children.
  • Shops: All retail shops can reopen from 8 June and shopping centres can open from Monday 15 June. People are encouraged to shop locally, shop safely and support businesses in the community. However there will be specific rules for shopping and shopping centres which will be published shortly. Opening times and modes of operation may vary. You should co-operate with store staff and abide by systems put in place for your safety.
  • Work from home: You should work  from home where possible.
  • Transport: Walk or cycle if you can. Only use public transport if you absolutely need to and wear a face covering on public transport. Public transport capacity is limited because of social distancing requirements.

Changes have also been announced to the COVID-19 Pandemic Unemployment Payment and it has been confirmed that the Temporary Wage Subsidy Scheme will continue until the end of August.