Supports over the Christmas period

The nationwide network of Citizens Information Centres will close on Wednesday 23 December 2020 at 1pm and reopen on Monday 4 January 2021 at 9am.

The Citizens Information Phone Service will operate reduced hours over Christmas.

Day Date Opening hours Comment
Wed 23/12/20 9- 5 Reduced hours
Thurs 24/12/20 Closed Christmas Eve
Fri 25/12/20 Closed Christmas Day
Mon 28/12/20 Closed St. Stephens Day
Tues 29/12/20 9 – 5 Reduced hours
Wed 30/12/20 9 – 5 Reduced hours
Thurs 31/12/20 9 – 5 Reduced hours
Fri 1/01/21 Closed New Years’ Day
Mon 4/01/21 9 – 8 Normal hours resume

If you need emergency support over the Christmas period you can contact a range of voluntary services.

Service CallOpening hours Email
Samaritans
If you are in distress or struggling to cope
116 123
24 hours (any time, day or night)
jo@samaritans.ie
Pieta House

If you are suicidal or engaging in self-harm
1800 247 247
24 hours (any time, day or night)
info@pieta.ie
Rape Crisis Centre

If you need support with a crisis
1800 778 888
24 hours (any time, day or night)
info@rcc.ie
Women’s Aid

If you are affected by domestic violence
1800 341 900
24 hours (any time, day or night)
info@womensaid.ie
Men’s Aid

If you are affected by domestic violence
01 5543811 Open 10-4 on 28, 29 and 30 December
Closed from 24 December to 27 December and 31 December to 3 January
hello@mensaid.ie
Childline

Support for everyone up to the age of 18 in Ireland
1800 666 666
Free Text 50101

24 hours (any time, day or night)
 
50808

If you are experiencing a crisis and are unable to cope


Text HELLO to 50808


24 hours (any time, day or night)


The HSE has a full list of online, phone and text mental health services.